Lovely Autumn Pumpkins

September 27, 2008 at 11:16 am 1 comment

I know, I know.  You’re probably asking yourself…”No recipe?  No food?  No drink?”  Well, I did make a batch of pesto this morning, but I’ve already shared that recipe with you.  (tip: make a big batch and divide it up into ice cube trays, freeze, and put in a freezer bag.  Pop them out for quick pesto that tastes super fresh!)

I guess I put my creative thinking into a crafty project this weekend.  Fall is in fact my favorite season.  I love to decorate our home with fall colors, pumpkins, gourds, and apple scented candles.  It’s a little early to be busting out the pumpkin bars so I decided to satisfy my fall craving by making these very stylish pumpkins. 

I was reading in a magazine a couple of days ago about how to make these pumpkins.  Except in the magazine they used silver and gold leaf and there were about 5 steps to the process.  I like to make things simple, so I decided to use gold spray paint instead.  I went to my local craft shop and purchased all the materials for about 20 bucks for 2 large pumpkins.  Try this out for yourself!  It makes for a very classy modern fall look!

2 medium/large size white craft pumpkins
1 can gold spray paint
1 roll of 1/2 inch electrical tape

Using the electrical tape, make any design you wish. You can also use round stickers to create a polka dot effect.

Once the tape is in place, it’s time to paint! I did this outside with newspaper underneath. To make sure the pumpkin does not stick to the paper, place the lid of the paint on the paper and sit the pumpkin on top. This way you can paint the whole surface in one step without it sticking.

Once the paint is dry, carefully remove the tape. Voila! You have a fabulous pumpkin that looks like you paid big bucks for!

Try buying a variety of sizes and group them together for a fun look.  You can also use silver paint.  This can be done on real pumpkins, but I like the craft pumpkins so that I can use these year after year.

Entry filed under: Non-food projects. Tags: , , .

“Gourmet” Brownies Salsa Verde Enchiladas with Cilantro Rice

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other subscribers

Feeds