Fuzzi Bunz Cloth Diaper Review and Cloth Diapering Tips

January 19, 2010 at 6:22 pm 2 comments

When I found out I was pregnant with our first child, I did a lot of research on how to have a baby without breaking the bank.  We didn’t go crazy and buy every thing the baby registry checklist told us we needed. I wanted our daughter to have what she needed, but didn’t want to have our small condo filled with expensive baby gear, that probably wouldn’t get used enough.

I started considering cloth diapers, first of all.  I didn’t realize how far cloth diapers had come!  Moms are no longer limited to those white diapers that have to be held together with safety pins…which SCARE me!  Cloth diapers have come SO FAR!

I finally decided that pocket diapers would be the way to go for our family.  There is an outerlayer (the diaper) that has a waterproof fabric on the outside, and a soft fleece on the inside.  You slide a liner into the “pocket” and that is what absorbs the moisture.  These diapers snap shut with sewn in snaps.  They come in all sizes, and more recently, one size fits all.  Yes, there is a bigger up front cost, but you will save SO MUCH compared to disposables, trust me.

I ended up deciding to purchase Fuzzi Bunz.  I ordered 24 small to start.  They have been perfect.  No diaper rash for our little girl!  Check out the Fuzzi Bunz website for more information.  I ordered mine from Ebay.  They were brand new and significantly cheaper than some online stores.  You can also find slightly used on craigslist or even resell them there when you are done with them!

Helpful tips for cloth diapering:

  • Start out with 16-24 diapers.  I have to do laundry about every 2-3 days with 24 diapers.  It has definitely slowed down as my baby has gotten a little older.  At the very beginning we used newborn disposable diapers just to make it easier on us.
  • Get a diaper pail that works for you.  I ended up ordering the Fuzzi Bunz In and Out Mess Free Diaper Bag .  I have it hung on the back of the nursery door, and it’s so easy to just open it up, shake out the liner and throw the diaper in.  When you’re ready to wash, just unzip the bottom of the bag and all the diapers fall out into the washing machine.  You don’t have to touch anything!  Throw the bag in at the same time too!
  • Get a small zipper wet bag.  These are for when you are out and about and need a place to put the soiled diaper.  I bought a Planet Wise Wet Bag in size small.  I think it was around 9 bucks.  I can stuff 3 diapers inside…more than enough for on the go.
  • Washing instructions:  While baby is still breastfed or bottle fed, #2 does not need to be rinsed or shaken off before washing.  Once it becomes more solid, the contents need to be shaken off into the toilet before washing. 1.  Run a cold water rinse.  2.  Run a hot water wash.  3.  Dry everything, diapers, liners, bags in the dryer.
  • Use a fragrance free detergent.  I use soap nuts (stay tuned for review on these miracle babies) and a scoop of Oxy Clean Baby.  I haven’t had any stains remain on the diapers and they always smell fresh and clean!

If you have any additional questions about cloth diapering, please leave a comment and I will respond!

Entry filed under: Baby. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Awesome Giveaway at Centsational Girl! Soap Nuts – All Natural Laundry Detergent!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dafarmer06  |  February 4, 2010 at 8:44 am

    I love the way you broke down how these work. I really want to do non-disposable diapers and was feeling a little overwhelmed. Thanks for the tips! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. fabulouslyclassic  |  February 4, 2010 at 9:20 am

      Oh, I’m so glad it was helpful! I was very overwhelmed at first, too, but it didn’t take long to get the hang of it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Feeds


