Baby Girl Sundress

January 12, 2010 at 1:01 pm Leave a comment

Ok, please understand this. I am NOT a seamstress. Yes, I have a sewing machine and I’ve made my fair share of curtain panels and throw pillows, but I always take short-cuts and am usually very impatient, which leaves me with a very sub-par product in the end.
I’m currently getting my masters degree in education (integrating the arts to be specific) and I only have three more months to go! Whohoo! For one of my final projects, we were instructed to create a project that incorporated two art forms. Our current instructor is very artsy and in turn, pretty lax about what our project could end up looking like. I decided I was going to take a chance and make a dress for my three month old daughter for her to wear this summer, and write a poem about the process for her to read later in life.

I came across this great tutorial on Think Liz.  She’s got great free sewing tutorials of her own, as well as a whole slew of ones she’s located around the web.

This dress took me about 2 hours!  During my daughter’s nap time to be exact.  I really thought I would have to spread it out over a couple of days, but It’s really simple!  And remember, I’m NOT a seamstress!  I don’t have good fabric scissors or one of those boards that help you cut straight lines…nope, not here, and it was still easy!

The one thing that went wrong was the tie.  I screwed it up, mostly because I didn’t cut a straight line…maybe I do need one of those boards after all 🙂  So instead, I used a simple ribbon.  I’m actually going to go buy a brown ribbon to give it more contrast.

I can’t wait to see my daughter wear this when it gets warmer out…and she can also wear it as a top as she grows.  I’m also excited to make this simple dress for all the baby showers I have coming up.  Give it a try…if I can do it, anyone can!

Entry filed under: Sewing Projects. Tags: , , .

9 Dollar Art Awesome Giveaway at Centsational Girl!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Feeds


