Daring Bakers Challenge…Pizza!

October 29, 2008 at 12:15 pm 9 comments

This was my first month participating with the Daring Bakers.  I had so much fun!  I usually buy pizza dough or make the jiffy kind and I’ve been satisfied with that…until I made it from scratch!  It was pretty simple, and the pizza tasted wonderful!  As you can see from the pictures, my pizza dough bubbled up a lot.  I must have gotten too many air bubbles in it while trying to toss.  Yes, that was part of the challenge.  We had to try and toss the dough!

Here is my husband Ben’s camera work…I look like I have a black eye, and he didn’t get the dough in the first shot!  Oh well, at least you can see that I tried to be all authentic and everything

The first pizza I made was basic tomato sauce with caramelized onions and mushrooms.  If I made this one again, I would do it with a pesto or garlic sauce instead.  The tomato overpowered the other flavors.

To carmelize onion with mushrooms, coat a saute pan with olive oil until just smoking.  Throw in onions and mushrooms.  Do not add any salt at this point.  It should look like this.

Continue cooking and stirring occasionally.  You will see the onions getting softer, and eventually they will start to turn a caramel color.  Once the onions are tender, add a little beer or wine to the pan.  This will deglaze the pan and give the onions and mushrooms a little more flavor.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

 

 The second pizza was tomato sauce with finely minced garlic, tomato and basil. 

Go to Rosa’s Yummy Yums for the basic pizza dough recipe.  Thanks to Rosa for hosting this month’s challenge.  It was a blast!

Entry filed under: Main Course. Tags: , , , , , .

Kentucky Chili Idiot’s Delight!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sweet Pea  |  October 29, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Great pizza, I love the caramelized onions and mushrooms idea. It was also my first Daring Bakers challenge. What fun!

    Reply
  • 2. Mary  |  October 29, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    The caramelized onions and mushrooms look fabulous! Cheers on your first challenge.

    Reply
  • 3. Hypnosis  |  October 29, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Yummy AND fun – how’s that for a winning combination?

    Reply
  • 4. jownby  |  October 30, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Good job, girl! That pizza looks awesome. It looks soooo much better than the one I made. I think I tried to stretch my dough too thin.

    Reply
  • 5. Lynn  |  October 30, 2008 at 9:09 am

    I love caramelized onions. So I am sure I would love your pizza! Plus, I am jealous that you have fresh basil. The frost got mine. Great job!

    Reply
  • 6. Dayna  |  October 30, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    I love your pictures! That was a really fun aspect of this challenge. All looks tasty at your house! Welcome to the challenges.

    Reply
  • 7. John (Eat4fun)  |  November 1, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Congratulations on completing your first DB Challenge!
    Great looking photos. The onions look delicious!

    Reply
  • 8. Ivonne  |  November 1, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Congratulations on your first DB challenge! I love the look on your face as you toss the pizza … classic! I think your pizza turned out great!

    Reply
  • 9. Saito  |  November 28, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Ah yum, that looks good :D. My first try of Pizza was totally American style and everyone seemed to like it…=D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Feeds


