Before and After – Coffe Table Chest

January 31, 2010 at 8:59 pm 7 comments

Christmas this year was a little different now that we have a baby.  So many presents!  Crazy.  Since we live in an 860 sq. ft. condo, space is always an issue.  I’m trying to be very good about rethinking what I bring in, and always having a box to put things in to donate.  I’m trying to live more simply.  Having a kid makes living simply, well, really difficult!

She acquired a load of toys, and all I was thinking was “Where in the heck are we going to put these?”  “Oh no, our living room is going to look like a Gymboree!”

So the search began for a storage chest that could double as a coffee table.  There are lots of options out there, but I couldn’t handle the ridiculous price tags.  80 bucks for a wicker chest at Target?  Come on people.

Finally I found this beauty on Craigslist.  Got it for 40 bucks after waiting about a week for the lazy seller to meet up with my husband.  Don’t you hate the wait that is Craigslist?  AHH!

Here’s the before picture.  Obviously, I was so excited to take this picture I forgot to take the pic at the beginning :)

I decided to paint it a dark red, distress it oh so slightly, and then put an antiquing glaze on top.  I wanted it to resemble something you would pick up at Pottery Barn, but for way cheaper!

So I put about 2-3 coats of the red and let it dry completely.  Then I took sand paper and sanded the edges.  Some chunks of paint came off here and there, and that was ok with me.  I wanted it to look worn – like it had happened over time.

After distressing it, I applied the antiquing glaze.  This was my first try with the stuff, and I have to say I’m pretty pleased with the way it turned out.  I just used an old soft cloth, and applied it in a circular motion.  It really gives it a deep, rich tone – and makes mutes everything.  I love it!  Oh and I bought it at Lowes.  It’s the Valspar Antiquing Glaze and it was around 7 bucks…I have almost the whole bottle left too.  You don’t use that much.

What do you think?  I’m really happy with it!  The night I finished it, I went to bed thinking of all the other things I could glaze…my husband might just need to hide the bottle from me!

Entry filed under: Frugal Crafts. Tags: , , , , .

Tidy Mom Valentine Recipe and Giveaway! Look-Alike Pottery Barn Number Pillows

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pk @ Room Remix  |  February 1, 2010 at 11:30 am

    It looks great red and looks like it adds a fun punch of color and coordinates with the red in your pillows. Pretty! Great job.

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah @ The Thriftress  |  February 1, 2010 at 11:59 am

    So cute! I need one – the toys def. take over the family room. How did you cover the unfinished back side of the chest?

    Reply
    • 3. fabulouslyclassic  |  February 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm

      Thanks for your comment! When I bought the chest off of craigs list, I didn’t realize the back wasn’t meant to be seen – it had that cheap fiber board stuff on the back – I pulled it off and put two pieces of wood on instead. We had that lying around, so I just cut it to size and fit it in. Then I painted and glazed the same way I did the rest of the chest.

      Reply
  • [...] I love how it looks with my new chest! [...]

    Reply
  • 5. Shannon  |  February 4, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    I love the red! So pretty!

    Reply
  • 6. Jennifer Allwood  |  February 5, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    I always get going before i remember the before shots! Love the red!!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Miss Mustard Seed  |  February 6, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I love it in the red. It was worth the CL wait. I really like the lines of this piece and $40 was a good deal. Great find and great work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

